

9 February 2018 Kathrine Morgan-Wicks, Chair

WorkCover Board appointments

- Appointments to the restructured WorkCover Tasmania Board have been finalised, providing the Board with a skills-based structure following a public expression of interest process.
- The Board was dissolved on 1 January in line with amendments to the Worker's Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, with new board appointments formally approved in January 2018.
- Dr Robert Walters will continue his position on the Board, having been its medical director since 1997. Dr Walters has extensive experience on boards, including with Primary Health Tasmania and the Cancer Council of Tasmania, of which he was chairman from 2001-2004.
- New board appointees include:
 - Graham Wood, a partner in legal firm Wallace Wilkinson and Webster. Mr Wood has been the principal solicitor for the Police Association of Tasmania for more than 20 years, providing advice on workers compensation matters;
 - Insurance industry professional Sofia Mavratzas. Ms Mavratzas has held leadership roles with insurers, the South Australian statutory regulator and the state's largest private self-insured employer;
 - Unions Tasmania secretary Jessica Munday. Ms Munday worked with the Community and Public Sector Union (Federal) for 12 years and is the Secretary and Treasurer of the Worker Assist Committee of Management;
 - Wesfarmers Tasmanian worker's compensation manager Julieann Buchanan. Ms Buchanan has 30 years of experience in workers compensation insurance, rehabilitation, and occupational health and safety at strategic and operational levels.
- The Board works with employers, workers, doctors and others to reduce workrelated injury and illness and aid the early return to work of injured workers.
- It also manages Tasmania's workers compensation scheme and makes recommendations to the Minister relating to workers compensation legislation.
- The Board is chaired by the Acting Secretary of the Department of Justice, Kathrine Morgan-Wicks. Vicki Tabor is the Board secretary.
- The new Board members have been appointed for three years.

Contact: Allan de Weys

Phone: 6165 4889